PDA

View Full Version : Good start to winter for ungulates..?

dapesche
12-04-2018, 08:18 AM
High snow levels.
Green in the valleys
Depressed ungulates numbers.
Good growing season through spring summer.

Hopefully we see some top level survival rates.

I'm new to hunting so am I too optimistic? Can we expect a population bounce back with the warmer start to winter down here in the koots?

.264winmag
12-04-2018, 08:33 AM
Depends who you talk to, few different theories on the subject. One is milder winters can increase predation as it's easier for them to hunt, not battling through snow. Cold winters with good snow accumulation and wolves don't do so well wading through snow above their head.
I can see the milder start thus far a plus, ground is not yet frozen in my area with plenty of grub around still. Worst case scenario is a big snow dump followed by Pineapple Express finished with cold snap. Dogs do well on frozen snow...

Bugle M In
12-04-2018, 10:18 AM
From what I recall over the years, winter and winter survival/or deaths seem to occur:

When the game has not moved down to their normal winter range, and the snow suddenly comes down quick and hard for extended times.
If the snow falls little by little accumulating slowly over days, the game seem to get that as the cue to move down.
The worst season were the ones where we have freezing rain etc first, thus putting a sheet of ice down on top of the feed, then followed by lots of snow.

Being down in the LM, I never get to see what occurs in other parts of the province.
I hunted Kammy a few times in the past month, and snow levels are really low.
(Way lower then how it used to be).
But its areas that have high mountain ranges, like say in Princeton, or the Kettle Valley, or the EK, where game can often get trapped overnight, and where I do recall some big "die offs" over the years.

Hoping it will be an good winter as I don't think we need that problem on top of all the other issues right now.

Bugle M In