PDA

View Full Version : Clothing suggestions

sjdb243
10-24-2018, 06:12 PM
Hey guys - excuse the dumb question - my excuse is I'm new to Canada!

So what do you guys suggest for high quality hunting clothing? Planning on some backpack hunting, probably will get cold and snowy. What works for you guys? I want something that will keep the water out, the warm in.

Where is a good place to try on some gear and buy locally in Vancouver?

Thanks in advance ya good blokes!

whitlers
10-24-2018, 08:06 PM
Sitka, Kuiu, First Lite, Arc'teryx to name a few. I have a mixture of Sitka and Kuiu that I am happy with however I have yet to drop the money on good rain gear.

You can try some Sitka gear on at Cabelas and First Lite at Bass Pro but both in limited supply.

Use the search function and you will find some great info on gear.

Best of luck!

twoSevenO
10-25-2018, 12:04 AM
Vancouver actually sucks for high end gear. I haven't been to Italian sporting goods lately, but none of the stores in vancouver carry a decent selection of Leica glass. Maybe 2 stores carry Meindl boots. I dont think that ANY carry high end hunting knives at all.

You pretty much have Bass Pro and Cabelas for Sitka clothing. That's the only high end hunting clothing brand you're gonna get locally since Kuiu only sells online. And even then good luck .... cables either wont have the model you want in stock or wont have your size .... it's like O brother where art though .... two weeks for anything pretty much.

Hell I couldnt even find a left handed Tikka T3 ANYWHERE locally in a fairly common 243Win. Same with my rem 700 ... Had to order out of Alberta. Like, why cant you just have shit in Stock like the Alberta guys? .... Shopping in vancouver sucks :)

Wentrot
10-25-2018, 06:06 AM
Sitka, Kuiu, First Lite, Arc'teryx to name a few. I have a mixture of Sitka and Kuiu that I am happy with however I have yet to drop the money on good rain gear.