PDA

View Full Version : Left Eye Dominant; Right handed

Wild_Dog
08-31-2018, 08:48 AM
So watching my 6 year old playing with plastic dart guns over the last few years I noticed that he always lifted the scope to his left eye while being right handed. Ended up getting his eyes tested in school and sure enough he is left eye dominant. While this plays out nicely for baseball and golf it isn't ideal for shooting. Is this something that can be overcome, or should he be learning to shoot left handed?

RyoTHC
08-31-2018, 09:03 AM
From a young age ? I'd definitely start him on left handed... He won't know any different.

I started shooting in my mid twenties and just forced myself to shoot right handed, low and behold after I put the time into learning it turns out I'm left eye dominant right handed, holding a gun up to my left shoulder now feels more awkward than my first date so I've had to turn to sub par solutions like closing my left eye when behind the scope, or running lever action with red dot so I can shoot both eyes open.

skibum
08-31-2018, 11:54 AM
Learn to shoot left hand. My youngest son (9) is left eye dominant (right handed), and it took a little to figure it out.

Now that we have, he loves shooting. Forcing right eye dominance, may lead to frustration and non-enjoyment of shooting. We started down this path and quickly switched back to his natural eye dominance.

Wild_Dog
08-31-2018, 12:24 PM
Thanks for the input gents.

PKernohan
08-31-2018, 01:57 PM
My friends son was the same. Noticed it when he first started shooting a bow. He just wore a patch over his left eye for a while and that seemed to solve the issue.

canishunter22-250
08-31-2018, 01:57 PM
I had that problem when I was young. Wore a pirate patch over my left eye and eventually got used to shooting with my right eye. I'm sure glad I did that instead of trying to shoot left handed for the rest of my life.

digger dogger
08-31-2018, 02:23 PM
I'm left eye dom, rt handed.