PDA

View Full Version : Hunting Newbie needs advice

rishu_pepper
09-03-2007, 10:28 AM
Long time gun nut, first time hunting this season. I've been reading many threads in this forum and I think I've gathered some basic knowledge but I'm still a newb.

Anyway, my friend (who, despite much longer shooting experience, has also not gone into the field yet except squirrels :cool:) and I plan to do our first deer (probably muleys) hunt this season. Since we live in the Lower Mainland, I was thinking somewhere close by in Region 2 or 3, within a few hours drive. We scouted out Cache Creek a few weeks back and it seemed promising with the deer signs. So here are some questions I'd like to ask:

What are some nice places to go deer hunting for beginners?
How does one figure out what land is Crown land and what land is private (is there a map available)?
Are there good places with both deer and duck/geese (friend plans to bring shotgun)?
Any words of wisdom for new hunters? ;)

Just on a whim, and I know there should be a fair amount of Lower Mainlanders out here, are there anyone with some hunting experience who would like to come with us? We'll of course pay for gas/food, etc. :biggrin: Thanks!

BearSniper
09-03-2007, 10:39 AM
Hello Rishu Pepper, welcome;-)

I would suggest these region 2 spots:

Chilliwack River valley east to the lake, American Creek FSR north of Hope, Harrison lake, Boston Bar, Sumallo FSR by Sunshine Village, Silver lake FSR by Hope, and the FSR roads along the lower Coquihalla.

I, and others, have seen deer and bear in all these spots.

Also come November, keep a Bobcat tag or 2 in your pocket, you're allowed 5 in region 2

Most any FSR is public property. If its private you'll see the signs and fences

As for geese/ducks , I haven't done much at all and would be asking for help there too

Best of luck:wink:

BearSniper

hoochie
09-03-2007, 10:46 AM