PDA

View Full Version : Leh bison december 2018

B-Roth
06-22-2018, 01:09 PM
Hey everyone!:lol:

I was super super super! LUCKY!
to draw a LEH for Bison in region 7:57 zone B.
For December 6th-20th, up by Pink Mountain. :cool:

I'm wondering if anyone has any experience hunting up in this area,
and at this time of year? And if so!

Where did they stay? or did they camp?
I used to work up there, and I do remember it being pretty damn cold at this time! hahaha

Also what is a recommend fire arm for this hunt, the biggest rifle I currently own is a 30-06.
And I'm sure I am going to have to get something bigger, for this size of animal.

And info, and recommendations will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you all,
Hope you have a super wicked day!!

Thanks,
Brandon Roth

todbartell
06-22-2018, 01:13 PM
30-06 with a premium 180gr bullet is plenty. Good luck on your hunt

barry1974w
06-22-2018, 01:13 PM
There’s lots of good info in posts from previous years, I’m far from an expert on the search feature, but try it and you should find lots of info.
Hope for enough snow to use snowmobiles, the hunting can be tough, but it’s spectacular country and you’ll have lots of fun.

barry1974w
06-22-2018, 01:14 PM
30-06 with a premium 180gr bullet is plenty. Good luck on your hunt

Like he said, your 06 with a good bullet will work fine. But if you’re looking for an excuse to buy another rifle.......

Sportster
06-22-2018, 04:31 PM
180gr Hornady superformance sst. Big buff down. Have a great time, and good luck.

JoeSixPack
06-23-2018, 08:01 AM
SST is not great choice for bison at closer distances. You will want a premium bonded bullet, such as a nosler accubond, or a federal premium trophy bonded tip, or a mono-metal bullet such as a barnes TTSX or hornady GMX. Shot placement is key, bison are large but their vitals are not.

Sportster
06-23-2018, 11:08 AM