PDA

View Full Version : Where is the closest mountain sheep to Vancouver?

Morrison
04-04-2018, 08:31 PM
Hey!

With the sheep counts going on this weekend I'm wondering where the closest mountain sheep to Vancouver would be? I know there's goats closeby but why not sheep?

Thanks for any info

hoochie
04-04-2018, 08:47 PM
googled it.. found excellent info.
not sure my cut and paste was allowed.

Morrison
04-04-2018, 08:50 PM
I'm thinking MU 3-31 then?

Tron
04-04-2018, 09:04 PM
Fraser canyon

Bugle M In
04-04-2018, 09:06 PM
Lyton/Spences Bridge

twoSevenO
04-04-2018, 09:16 PM
I'm thinking MU 3-31 then?

3-17 .... they can be viewed right off the highway between Lytton and Spences Bridge.

"No Choke"Lord Walsingham
04-04-2018, 09:27 PM
Lytton/Spences are the transplanted heard they call the California Big Horn Sheep right?

pg83
04-04-2018, 09:31 PM
I'm no bighorn expert by any means, but I believe Spences Bridge herd is a transplant of Rocky Mountain Bighorns out of Jasper and everything in the Fraser river are natural occurring California Bighorns.

silvertipp
04-04-2018, 09:31 PM
Aldergrove
vancouver game farm

twoSevenO
04-04-2018, 09:42 PM
I'm no bighorn expert by any means, but I believe Spences Bridge herd is a transplant of Rocky Mountain Bighorns out of Jasper and everything in the Fraser river are natural occurring California Bighorns.

Can you clarify? Spences bridge is on the fraser river, so what are you saying is the divide between Rock mountain big horns and california big horns?

srupp
04-04-2018, 09:58 PM
Hmmm Spenses bridge are rocky mtn bighorns..yet close by at Kamloops lake they are Californian bighorn..same as what WAS a herd at Chasm was California bighorn..
As for where the rockies from Spenses originated. .ive heard several theories..one being Hinton mine area..
Cheers
Steven

pg83
04-04-2018, 10:01 PM