PDA

View Full Version : Turkey hunting around Penticton

mikellini
02-24-2018, 09:55 PM
Hey everyone, first post here so take it easy on me...

Anyone hunt for gobblers around the Penticton area in the spring? Want to take pity on me and show me around? I live in West Kelowna, but it looks like according to the regs I'd need to drive south for the spring season. Just getting back into hunting, went a few times when I was young and I want to be able to do the same for my kids once I figure out what I'm doing. I'm just starting out with a rimfire rifle and optimism, any help would be greatly appreciated :)

mikellini
03-12-2018, 01:24 PM
Anybody? I'm realizing I may need to go a bit further south...

358mag
03-12-2018, 04:50 PM
Head east .
Beaverdall-Carmi Hwy33 region .
Few turkeys starting to show up around Mt Baldy region but this heavy snow winter might have pushed them back to Rock Creek-Kettle River area .
Good luck .

303savage
03-12-2018, 05:11 PM
"The NDP approach: if the facts don't fit your ideology, just pretend the facts don't exist..."

Seem to be that way with all Governments.

mmckimmi
03-12-2018, 05:36 PM
Further away, in the kootenays you'll find a turkey gold mine along the north shore. They're borderline becoming a pest. Around my parents farm we see wild roaming groups of 20+. I imagine anywhere between beaverdell and the koots would be good.

monasheemountainman
03-12-2018, 05:43 PM
yeah head east, and please buy a shotgun to hunt them.

358mag
03-12-2018, 07:31 PM
"The NDP approach: if the facts don't fit your ideology, just pretend the facts don't exist..."

Seem to be that way with all Governments.

And your point is ????

mikellini
03-12-2018, 09:36 PM
yeah head east, and please buy a shotgun to hunt them.

Any particular reason why? Aside from the safety of other hunters behind the bird (which is moot if I am making a safe shot) I see a rimfire rifle as an improvement in many ways

mikellini
03-12-2018, 09:42 PM
Head east .