PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone else sick of getting sidelined at our own game?

canishunter22-250
01-31-2018, 07:03 PM
I just submitted feedback in regards to the proposed regulations changes for Skeena North Moose.

I'm curious if anyone else feels the same way as I do.

My feedback was as follows:

To whom it may concern:

I am distressed to read that the any bull season in Region 6 North is currently under scrutiny. I have lived in the north my entire life and it is of great importance to my family and I that I can fill my freezer with moose meat on a yearly basis. I am a 4th generation resident hunter of BC and do not understand why my rights to fill the freezer keep getting eroded because someone else's rights to do the same thing allegedly trump mine.
There are plenty of moose in the northern areas of region 6 and I am appalled that this regulation change is being considered, in part, on the basis of "Addressing First Nations concerns of high licensed hunter use of culturally important areas." I'm sick and tired of the First Nations lobbying wildlife managers to more and more whittle away the seasons for licensed hunters. Anyone who thinks it is going to stop here is delirious.
I was raised by two wildlife biologists in this province and have always had great respect for the hunting and fishing regulations and what they aim to accomplish. I am completely on board with tightening hunting seasons when there is a legitimate conservation concern but this is not at all the case here. This is a case of re-allocation of wildlife resources based on ethnicity.