PDA

View Full Version : Lower Arrow Lake Elk

oldboot
01-18-2018, 07:30 AM
My brother and I are looking to do some scouting on the east side of Arrow Lake. Not too sure exactly where, but up high. We are hoping to kill two birds with one stone. Get some backpacking in and do some scouting in the area for Elk sign. If things look OK, we'll come back a few times through the summer and and get to know the area well before making any kind of attempt at a hunt in September. Just wondering if anyone had any knowledge of the area from both a hunting and hiking perspective? As neither of us know the area or anyone who lives in the area, any help or tips would be much appreciated. Neither of us have hunted Elk, but want to give it a try. I know that our chances of success on a 6 point will be low, but it's not just about the kill, and being out and away in the back country is what makes it all worth it. Have to start somewhere. Thanks.

Throwaway
01-18-2018, 08:38 PM
I’m no expert on he area but bro... it’s January. Let em hunker down and chill a bit. I’d venture that their winter range will be quite different from where you find them come September. Spring when they’re dropping calves would be the time to start in my opinion.

curt
01-18-2018, 10:05 PM
agreed Throwaway

canucks6
01-18-2018, 11:08 PM
Already excited for next falls hunt. I know the feeling. If u want to go high it will be near mid June before u get to explore. Depending on snow pack. I have had the sled out in early June in areas ur thinking about. With little time for vegetation to grow south slopes for food with good timber for cover to beat the heat. I got a camera on a hole that a batchelor group of bulls hangs out every summer (up to 8 different bulls one year) but come third week of august they are all gone. U want a bull find some cows.

oldboot
01-19-2018, 02:37 AM