PDA

View Full Version : How to hunt wolves?

Redo
11-02-2017, 09:42 PM
I am tagged out on deer and following some of your recommendations, I am considering predator hunting in region 8. Problem is, I have no experience. In fact, in all of my days hunting I have never seen a wolf in the wild.

Suggestions?

.300WSMImpact!
11-02-2017, 09:50 PM
bait if its legal is the best way

Ajsawden
11-02-2017, 09:52 PM
for starters you have to start seeing more wolves in the wild...
haha
I've been hunting for 20 years, and working in forestry for 15 and I only saw wolves for the first time from a helicopter this past February. They were standing in the middle of the log sort of all places. Hope fully lots of people give some info on this. Everyone seems to think shooting wolves is one of the answers to the declining ungulate populations so hopefully some of those people can give some insight on how to get your sights on some.

Seth
11-02-2017, 09:53 PM
Subscribed.

todbartell
11-02-2017, 10:11 PM
find sign. No point hunting/calling where there's no wolf sign, or only old sign. A fresh snow is best, find their tracks. Trouble with wolves, fresh tracks doesn't mean they're close, they could be a few miles away. You can howl with your voice or with a electronic call, they may answer you. I've had success calling them in both with howling, and with prey distress sounds

Drillbit
11-03-2017, 12:04 AM
I've had the most success by finding fresh track in fresh snow that follow a rd. When the tracks bail off the road kick the dog out and make it run behind the truck for a few miles. Dogs are great bait.
Go down the road several miles and wait at least an hour before you head back into the dog scent on the rd. Be ready to jump out quick and shoot they won't stay on the rd long.

I've shot several wolves doing this. Doesn't work if other people are driving around tho. Cold Jan n Feb days are best.