PDA

View Full Version : Poached Cow Moose

Bomni
10-11-2017, 01:00 PM
This is my first time posting and feel compelled to at this point. Our hunting party was in Region 7-26 hunting for Bull Moose, Spike Fork Moose, and deer from Sept 30 to Oct 8th. My hunting partner and I came across a cow moose that was taken on the Oct 7th. I believe that this was illegal but want confirmation from someone else on the dates. Now I know there was only one other party in there and they were there last year but given that when we found her their camp was packed up and gone real quick the morning we found it. We talked to them earlier and they were staying through the long weekend at least that how we interpreted it. They also left a souvenir (Spot flash light) so I am not sure what I can do regarding reporting the poaching if it is. All I know is the area they are from and the type of trucks they were driving

What can I do? Anything as I have no evidence?

huntingfamily
10-11-2017, 01:23 PM
Call the RAPP line and give them all the info you can.

REMINGTON JIM
10-11-2017, 01:26 PM
Just report your findings to the CO Service - they will interview them and if they feel there is enough evidence to start a CASE they will then WATER BOARD them till they confess and then toss them into prison for the rest of there Lives ! RJ

BigD_83
10-11-2017, 01:26 PM
There is no cow season, but there is a calf season (youth/senior) there. Could have been someone shooting what they thought was a calf.

If it is obvious the cow was killed by a gun/bowshot out of season, then you should be reporting it to RAPP and let the COs take it from there.

BRvalley
10-11-2017, 01:27 PM
positive it was a cow and not a calf?

the cow leh was not open on Oct 7 (Oct 10-25) but calf GOS was open to senior/youth

if you suspect foul play then report it, that's what the rapp line is for