PDA

View Full Version : New to elking

WoodOx
07-31-2007, 09:20 AM
I know some of you on here are veterans at the elk game, but Im completely new to it.

In region 8, when should I expect the rut? Beginning of sept right?

Any chance bulls will still be rutting when season opens up on the 26th?

I would imagine the game bios aligned season opening with the end of the rut, so if that is the case then, how do you hunt bulls post rut?

Thanks

Brambles
07-31-2007, 09:36 AM
Normally the elk will be bugling from the last week of August to the Oct 1

There will be periods in that time when they will be bugling better that others, if its real hot the might not bugle too much and you'll need to watch for the first stretch of cool weather to shock them into bugling.

Elk are big animals and need lots of water so in years when its hot its actually a bit easier to find them, look for spots on the mountain where there are lucious stands of deciduous trees, thats were the water is and the elk will most likely be hanging out.
Not sure if its the same for Region 8, it can get pretty brown over there but it works where I'm from.

Fisher-Dude
07-31-2007, 09:59 AM
Region 8 elk require the hunter to have a firmly wedged, large horseshoe to be successful. I've seen them in the summer, but have yet to actually see one in GOS or hear one bugle in reg 8.

The season opens up in some MUs on Sept 10. Usually, the 10th to the 24th is the best part of the rut. The new 8-15 GOS season is designed to open after the peak of the rut.

Post-rut bulls are hard to find - they go solitary, shut up, and hang on steep, thick north faces where they have food and water close by, and spend their time resting and feeding after the rut. Some may be out looking for cows in the second estrus in the first part of October, but they tend not to wander as far as they did during the September rut.

WoodOx
07-31-2007, 10:01 AM
Cool thanks Brambles.