PDA

View Full Version : Hunting squirrels with pellet gun, do I need license? Can I hunt anytime?

BackdoorAlex
06-11-2017, 09:39 PM
I'm brand new to hunting, I spend a lot of time in the woods where I always see grey squirrels running around. I figure they would make a nice tasty meal and I could pick them off clean with my pellet gun.

I'm wondering if I require a hunting license and if I can hunt them all year. The pellet gun is under 495 fps and doesn't require a gun license.

I also read somewhere that hunting with a pellet pistol is not allowed. I have a crossman 1322 pistol where I added a stock, is it still classified as a pistol? (Picture attached)

http://imgur.com/P1m5oHD

Thanks

brian
06-11-2017, 10:58 PM
http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/lower-mainland/wildlife/species/species_lists.htm#third

Grey Squirrels are Schedule C animals (invasive non-native species) which means you can hunt them anywhere, anytime, any method (as long as it is not breaking any other law like a no shooting bylaw or using landmines), no license required. If your sub 500 fps air rifle can kill quickly then go for it. Just make sure you are killing the grey squirrels and not the black squirrels.

Here is what the hunting regs define a pistol as

Handgun – is a firearm that is designed, altered or intended to be aimed and fired by the action of one hand or that has a barrel less than 305 mm (12 in.) in length.

So you are out of luck if your Crossman has a barrel shorter than 12" (measured by the barrel end to the bolt face... or whatever is at the base of the chamber in a air rifle).

Steeleco
06-12-2017, 05:21 AM
You also need to know your local bylaws. If those woods are in city/town limits you may not be allowed to hunt with anything.

E.B.
06-12-2017, 06:42 AM
http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/lower-mainland/wildlife/species/species_lists.htm#third