PDA

View Full Version : first post, 7-42 any advice?

Hillerbillyvan
06-01-2017, 11:26 AM
Going north to try my luck at moose in august, maybe elk even caribou
My wife and a buddy just got hunter numbers and I put them in for leh elk 7-42 7-50, I have SOME experience in a few areas up there and looking at really anywhere between chetwyn and ft nelson
7-42 north interests me for the different opportunitys in aug
Wondering if anyone has experience there and wants to share tips or can point me to where theres access ?
Very much apreciated

CraigOC
06-01-2017, 11:31 AM
I can't help you with 7-42 but I can tell you for your first post you should start with a joke. The guys with the knowledge here are more likely to help if your first post isn't asking for hints. Good Luck!!

Hillerbillyvan
06-01-2017, 12:00 PM
Fair enough bud, my bad

So you hear about the 3 bikini clad blondes out fishing?
CO shows up asking to see licences and none have one, when ordered to reel in he finds no hooks thyre only casting magnets!
to which the CO replies "well no crime in that have a good day girls" as soon as hes out of sight the one blond looks to the others giggling "Stupid fish cop! Doesnt he know theres steel heads in this river!?

Hope this helps my case lol

monasheemountainman
06-01-2017, 12:17 PM
bahaha good one...lots of places to go up north...sounds like a fun trip!

albravo2
06-01-2017, 02:03 PM
Welcome!

I've hunted in the area for the past several years. In August, especially a warm year like the last few, you can expect moose to be hard to come by in lower elevations. They are up high. I hear they are pretty heavy to pack downhill too. Take hiking poles and get up high.

I've seen elk and caribou down lower but I can't honestly say if that was luck or something more predictable.

Good luck. It isn't about the kill... plan to have fun getting to know the area and burning some boot leather before you break out the game bags.

weatherbyjunkie
06-02-2017, 09:25 PM