PDA

View Full Version : looking for squirrels :)

Julian2606
04-24-2017, 06:36 PM
Hey fellas,i'm new to hunting,just made my CORE successful a few days ago,but i have to wait till august before i can apply for my Hunters Number cause i have to be 12 months in BC before i count as a "resident". So the only chance for me to train my skills is goin out and chase some animals that i can hunt without that license.I'm interested in Squirrels,i saw many recipes for them and it looks not bad. I often head out to Harrison Mills for fishing,so i'm curious if somebody saw some of the Grey and black three critters out there? Or some other infos where i could go.....Don't get me wrong,i will not ask for your Deer Honey Hole :D i'm just looking for a place where i can practice my (very low level) hunting skills without braking any laws.I would be very thankful for feedback.
Cheers Julian

DeerForce
04-24-2017, 09:07 PM
Not sure if you can legally hunt squirrels, but I could be wrong. Check the regs, and get really familiar with them. If you plan on hunting deer you may be better off scouting locations and glassing for game. Try not too spook an area you plan to hunt, both you and others may be investing in the area. If you spot some game keep your distance and try observing them from a comfortable distance; you can learn a lot by watching how they live. If you find a good spot with decent sign you may even have fun setting up a trail cam or two and make a salt lick. Watch out for ticks this time of year.

Also read lots on the subject, if you can afford it the "how to hunt blacktails" App is a good resource. Steve use to post quite a bit on the forum under the user name proguide66. Check out this thread (http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showthread.php?57547-Book-Class-Blacktail-Huntin-2010&highlight=pg66).

Welcome to BC! Your gonna love it. All the best and safe learning and hunting.

Julian2606
04-24-2017, 09:33 PM