PDA

View Full Version : Backpacking Tent

dru88
02-05-2017, 07:24 AM
As the title says I am looking for a couple of answers on backpacking tents. I am hoping to start taking my 12 year old son out for some weekend backpack hunts. I am new at the whole backpacking thing so I will need to get some new ish gear ie TENT.

First question should I be looking at a 2 man or a three as I hear that 2 man tents are cramped for two men?

I think I have nailed it down to either MSR HUBBA HUBBA or a MEC spark or volt any reviews or thoughts?

We normally stay in a wall tent but my son really wants to start hiking in and camping and hunting from camp on foot. He really likes Meateater I think that's where his curiosity comes from either way I am in, now just got to get the right equipment to make is safe and comfortable for the boy.

Thanks

bonecolecter
02-05-2017, 07:42 AM
all good quality tents, i like 2 man tents,not touching walls,anuff room for big tall guy, couple pounds heavier,(every lb counts)lol i no guys buy a cheep tent every year and take turns packing it,i like my own sleeping space.i had a couple msr one maker's,good light but very tight,could not sit up in one,all things that seem important(er) with age.lol go getem

Bonz
02-05-2017, 08:25 AM
ive never found any tent yet that fits as they say for how many. i always buy next ones up. fort me a personal tent is a 2 man.
funny thing is my 10 buck special from super store has outlasted some of my 300 buck tents..lol, im not saying they compare to others. but for 10 buck and lasted me about 4 years now, not bad. folds down into my pocket to.

dru88
02-05-2017, 09:13 AM
do you know what the tent you got from super store is called?

knothead
02-05-2017, 09:22 AM