PDA

View Full Version : High country or tree line year-round trail cam use

Salvelinus
01-05-2017, 01:49 PM
I have never used trail cams before, but I'm thinking of catching some off-season sales and incorporating them into my hunting and scouting for next season and have been putting some thought into how to go about it. I have been concentrating most of my efforts the last few years around tree line or alpine, and it would be really nice to see the seasonal patterns of use for critters in the high country, especially in pinch points and trails that look like they are seasonal highways for game, or else around high use/feeding areas or good game trails to these during hunting season. I could take a pre-season trip into these spots early in the season, then check them in the hunting season and potentially battery swap so they last through the following year and can see the following spring just how late the deer and elk are up in the high country before moving down.

Any tips for set up or cameras that work well for this application?

Particularly, some things have come to mind:

- Since it's around tree line where the snowpack is huge, I'm assuming that there's a good chance they'd get buried in snow over winter, esp. if all that's around are larches where you don't get a tree well. Will getting buried in snow kill the camera? Would a lockbox weatherproof it some more? Seems like a good idea anyways to deter theft or a grizz knocking it down. Easy to pack a cordless drill in and hardware too. What's about the highest you can get away with mounting on a tree?
- Battery life and durability are probably the most important things to consider since I'd potentially check only once a year in the really remote spots. Solar might help, but seems like there are cameras out there that will easily run over a year anyways (trailcampro tests) so not sure if needed.