PDA

View Full Version : New to big game, new to Kamloops, advice please?

michaelodeon
07-07-2007, 02:02 AM
Howdy fowks,

I've been waterfowling for the last 4 years, but i've got the itch for big game, but i've searched the site and i havent found much on how to get into the sport.

I'm thinking of starting out with deer, problem is i just moved to kamloops and i'm not sure where to go, when to go, and how to prepare. I'm probably gonna try to take out the old man who hasnt been out in 20 years, so basically same boat as me.

Any advice on starting out would be GREATLY appreciated!

PS. i'm thinking of booking a motel or something so we can spend a couple days where we end up hunting, so let me know what your thoughts are.
Cheers,
Mike

thatskindafunny
07-07-2007, 06:45 AM
I would start off by joining your local fish & game club. Go with someone with experience and then things should fall into place from then on. Someone from Kamloops should be able to tell you where the nearest game club is.

boxhitch
07-07-2007, 07:08 AM
You don't have to go far out of town to be in good deer country. Grab a copy of the Backroads book for the Thompson area, and do some driving. Exploring is half the fun. Lots of good lakes too.
Good Luck and welcome to the site..

The Hermit
07-07-2007, 08:49 AM
What big game are you talking? Moose, Buffalo, Grizz, Elk?? Or anything and everything including deer and goats, sheep etc.

Tip #1 - Buy good quality gear. The cheap stuff breaks and doesn't perform, and the really expensive stuff isn't necessary to enjoy a quality hunt. Just don't cheap out.

Tip #2 - If you are only going to buy one gun get a 30.06 in a stainless barrel with a composite stock. LOL Now watch the flames! LOL

Tip #3 - Get OFF the road and walk, slowly and quietly.

bsa30-06
07-07-2007, 08:52 AM