PDA

View Full Version : Pitt River Lodge for fly fishing weekend?

AgSilver
01-03-2017, 02:41 PM
Taking my pops on a weekend fishing trip and have heard good things about PRL. Tips on best time of year to go? We're both pretty new when it comes to river fly fishing....he's lake fished his whole life up in R8 and I'm fairly new to fly fishing generally, but loved it when I went out on the Skagit etc.

I hear cuts and bulls and good through Spring/early summer (probably when we'd like to go).

Any thoughts are welcome as it will be a mostly new experience for us.

Cheers

knothead
01-03-2017, 05:31 PM
Your best bet would be to call the owner there and ask him about best times, you probably want to hit the sea run bulls in the spring and it can be tricky timing it to hit the right water levels.

mastercaster
01-03-2017, 11:00 PM
Coho fishing can be stellar in the fall but it definitely cuts into the best time for hunting, as well. It's about the only system in the lower mainland that you'll catch coho (all wild) on the swing. Usually coho will only smack flies in frog water.

cyalatte
01-03-2017, 11:42 PM
Like Knothead mentioned above, timing the water levels can be tricky. I've been there for Fall Coho, we had insane fishing for 4 hours before a system came in and blew the river out which can happen very fast...scary fast. We also did the bulls in the spring but the conditions went the other way and it was bone low and everything was real spooky. If the conditions are good, it can be out of this world.

AgSilver
01-04-2017, 12:27 PM
Thanks for the info guys...sounds like fishing...never a guarantee, but when it's good it'll be great.

albravo2
01-04-2017, 12:36 PM
The owners are great. Call and chat and they will recommend a good time.

I think the only thing I'd avoid is freshet. That river holds a lot of fish and there are lots of migrations too.

No retention for any species, but that is the only downside.

Buckmaster
01-08-2017, 04:46 PM