PDA

View Full Version : putting down a horse

primmed99
12-29-2016, 12:54 AM
Having a tough time doing it myself after 15 years, had to do a few of my dogs but for some reason this is a bit tougher. Any suggestions a vet isn't a option where I'm at.

Rod
12-29-2016, 12:58 AM
There is no easy way to do the deed, maybe a neighbor?

I feel for you dude! :-(

Mosin
12-29-2016, 01:03 AM
Im not an expert by any means and i feel for you. Do you have access to injectable pain killer for horses? Maybe a massive overdose. Better than getting a neighbir to shoot him/her. I dont know anything about the legality of this im just throwing it out there off the top of my head

boblly1
12-29-2016, 03:38 AM
the way had it explained to me is you needed a back hoe. Because the animal must be buried legal depth. Like i am saying 6 feet deep or by today's metric standards 2 metre`s and that is almost an impossible dig by hand

ncurrie
12-29-2016, 07:24 AM
Last April I had to put down my mare that I rescued. We had to administer 3 shots of anesthetics in her before we could get her to lay down, when I got her to lay down I said quick get him out and we performed the emergency c section. The vet tech and I worked on the foal. Apparently the vet had to cut a whole in Annie's side to get the sodium pentobarbital straight into her heart as it wasn't working fast enough in her veins. Because of the euthanasia we had to bury her 6ft down as that's the legal requirement to make sure other animals don't dig down and get at it. If they eat the animal, they too will die from the sodium pentobarbital. There is no easy way of doing it, but my vet always say to do it square between to eyes to make it quick. I wouldn't be able to do it either, so hopefully you have a neighbor that can. So sorry that you have to go through this.

Corb89
12-29-2016, 07:26 AM