PDA

View Full Version : Sharing a kill

Ajsawden
11-26-2016, 08:33 PM
So, just curious what everyone's thoughts are on splitting up meat among hunting party members after a successful hunt are.

I think there are times when sharing a kill is the obvious right thing to do, and other times when I feel 'I shot it, it's my deer, back off, fill your own freezer'.

Whenever we go on any multi-day hunts with friends and there are large costs that are shared among everyone, we always share meat conquered among everyone. However, on a day trip, less than an hour from home, I'm definitely the every man for himself mentality.

Today, I was hunting with two buddies of mine who did not know each other prior to going out this morning. **Brief background. I've been hunting for over 20 years, the friend #1 driving started last year and I've been showing him the ropes, and friend #2, this is his first year hunting, and first time me taking him hunting. We drive into a spot and split up to hunt some timber, I go with friend #2 ( first year hunting). And hour in and I spot a large body up the hill in the timber and immediately see antlers. Short version of this story we get it. This is friend # 2 first deer. High fives and hollering follow.

Fast forward to the end of the day and friend #1 asks me on the side if we're splitting up the deer. I'm a little taken aback as that thought never even crossed my mind. This is after it's all skinned out and shipped off with friend #2 who I assume headed straight for the butcher. If friend #2 wants to share, great, otherwise, he's got to feed his family too. Just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on this subject.

Cheers

Everett
11-26-2016, 08:38 PM
How myself and my partners do it is everyone keeps there own deer. In the case of Elk and Moose the shooter keeps half because he cancelled his tag and he donates the other half to the rest of the hunting partners to split.

dakoda62
11-26-2016, 08:39 PM
50/50 always shooter gets choice of side