PDA

View Full Version : how far is far enough?

TheTwelve
11-22-2016, 02:51 PM
so saturday i went up to region 3 on the coq 3-13 goto zum peak at 730 am parked the truck and hiked the rest of the way north east along the service road. (the snow was around 4-6 inchs deep along the service road, thats why i parked at zum peak.) we saw many tracks for deer, im still new to this so im not sure what deer it was but it was a deer. they mostly seemed old, our foot prints went twice as deep as the tracks, it was snowing but not that hard. we walked along the service road and through the trees/brush for a good 3 hours before turning around and walking back to the truck as we all forgot our lunch in the truck :/ now all the tracks we saw seemed to be old and the most recent ones looked very fresh but the dense tree line proved that deer have gone through the area unless it can clear 15 foot trees without taken the snow off the branchs. when we were walking through the bush it was very difficult to transverse, and we didnt see how a deer would go through this area of the woods... we got back to the truck around 12-1230.. this were where we desided to head up to murrphy lake area... we drop about 7-10km north, north west of the lake and began to walk through the bush this time and not stick to the service roads... 4 pm rolls around and we havent seen one track in the tree line.. there was a few along the service road but that was it...

now my question is how far in do we have to go, we are all beginner hunters and trying to figure this out, on how people go out for a day and end up always getting something?.. is this normal? or do we have to walk further in? or do we just sit somewhere with a call and hope for the best?