PDA

View Full Version : Some Rabbit Questions

4x4
11-22-2016, 11:58 AM
I'll be going rabbit hunting within the next 2 weeks. First time for bunnies. I'll be using my 22lr.

My brother shot one a few days ago just to make sure they are good eating. He said it was very good.

I am a rookie hunter but I know I'll get some. I will only shoot what we will eat. I don't want to take to many if there is a chance that the meat quality goes down once frozen. Everybody seems to have their own opinions on this so I thought I would ask on this site to hear from experienced hunters.

1) does the taste and quality of the meat get worse if frozen?
2) I'm thinking of possibly getting rabbit sausage made. If so, will sausage last longer in the freezer than just the frozen bunnies?
3) does anybody know a butcher that will make the sausage. I usually deal with Sumas Meats, so I will call them to see if they will do this.
4) there are 2 types of rabbits in the area I will be hunting. Eastern Cottontail and European. Is the meat the same or different?

Any advise is appreciated.

Thx

Ryo
11-22-2016, 12:06 PM
1) Absolutely not.
2-3) You'd have to be an absolute rabbit slayer to make this worthwhile.
4) Not sure, but probably not. Snowshoehare hare is different though - dark meat instead of the light meat of a cottontail.

A tip: If you're freezing them, you can tuck the back legs into the body cavity, which will prevent the sharp leg bones from puncturing your vacuum bag or ziplock.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/j69ny88dv3654yr/IMG_7304.JPG?dl=0

Ryo
11-22-2016, 12:12 PM
Though I should add: IF you do puncture the bags and you end up getting ice crystals forming on the meat, it will freezer burn quickly. We used to buy frozen rabbits from a small farm, and they'd already have freezer burn because of the poor packaging (loose ziplock). Want it done right, do it yourself!

4x4
11-22-2016, 02:37 PM
Thx for the reply Ryo.