PDA

View Full Version : Couple years into hunting still no success. Looking for tips(yeah another thread ;)

KBC
11-16-2016, 10:18 AM
I've been hunting for a couple years and have not had any luck past some grouse. I have a week off starting the middle of next week and was thinking of heading up around Nahatlach since I haven't struck out there yet and it's close to home ha.

Am I out of line heading that way? Any advice on other places within similar distance to mission? I'm going up for the day this Saturday to scout a bit but am willing to change plans since its just me going.

Im getting a little desperate to have some success so my wife doesn't think I'm wasting so much time or money hahahaha.

Cheers!

Fella
11-16-2016, 10:33 AM
Sounds like you're hunting blacktails. If you want to be successful with the ghosts you have to put in some work. Get into the timber in an area where you've seen sign and walk very very VERY slowly. Take a few slow steps, stop and glass, look PAST the brush for legs, a tail, part of a deers back etc. Blacktails are challenging to hunt.

KBC
11-16-2016, 10:53 AM
Yeah I'm not so interested in road hunting. I can get in almost as far as most quads can go in my 4x4 but plan on hiking after that. I'm not picky about species but it does look like blacktails are more prevalent in that area. If anyone has any other ideas on where I should look id appreciate it. At this point I'm looking for meat.

AgSilver
11-16-2016, 11:19 AM
Maybe into R3 somewhere where the WTs are still open.

I'm still new and haven't been many places, so my thoughts are mere musings.

Ryo
11-16-2016, 11:37 AM