PDA

View Full Version : Trail cam locks

Workinirn
11-15-2016, 08:52 PM
Just invested in two trail cameras, I'm curious to know what everyone uses for locks.
Ive seen cable locks at home hardware for $25 but would like to know if there is a better, more efficient way to secure our beloved cameras. I also realize no matter how you lock or secure your cameras, if someone wants them they will get them.

Hope some of the more experienced members can chime in here.
Thanks !

Stone Sheep Steve
11-15-2016, 08:54 PM
Lock boxes that lag bolt to the tree. Not fool proof for two legged marauders but there are pretty bear proof.

Workinirn
11-15-2016, 09:08 PM
Hey SSS, I'm very new to trail cameras. As far as I was concerned trail cameras were locked boxes..
Would you mind elaborating ?

dd3boss
11-15-2016, 09:33 PM
Trail cameras are lockable but are just made out of plastic. The lock boxes that they fit into are made of metal and lag bolt right to the tree. You then put your camera inside it and lock it in. Then you get a big ass cable lock and wrap it around the tree and lock it to the lock box. You can find lock boxes made for specific brands but also universal boxes that fit most cameras.

todbartell
11-15-2016, 10:17 PM
I have been using trail cams for ten years now, but until a couple weeks ago never bothered with a lock box of any kind. I've only lost 2 over the years to theft, one of those could of been a bear? I've had one SD card taken, and bears have chewed up a couple. I did get the Spypoint lock box for my new Solar cam, and also got a Python lock.

https://scontent-sea1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15036743_10154165113147992_1327480739893832345_n.j pg?oh=181b40c362f72325d6f015d609d86ff6&oe=58C6FBA5

Squamch
11-16-2016, 08:02 AM
We use steel boxes made for the cams, with the round trailer padlocks (where you can't get bolt cutters on them) and 3" lags. It'll take some work to get loose.

Sitkaspruce
11-17-2016, 07:05 PM