PDA

View Full Version : Bear and Dear Hunt Questions

TheTwelve
11-07-2016, 05:01 PM
Hello.

im very new to hunting, i have only been out 2-3 times in the past 2 years and havent gotten anything yet. i am heading out this weekend and next weekend hoping to get a deer or black bear, in region 2 or 3. i live is abbotsford and have seen countless number of videos on how to dress the animal in the field.. my only concern is, where would i go to get it butchered properly? I ive in a condo complex so i cant just string it up in my parking stall and do it myself....

any help would be greatly appreciated

thanks

adriaticum
11-07-2016, 05:07 PM
You can just quarter it in your camp and make sure you leave evidence of sex on a deer attached to one of the hind quarters. Ball sack.
Then make sure you have game bags and put the meat and quarters in the bags, then in a cooler or wrap it in a tarp and you're golden.
I live in a condo too and this is no problem.

- Have a 2,3 tarps
- 4,5 game bags.
- Large coolers, 1 or 2

TheTwelve
11-07-2016, 05:13 PM
would garbage bags work? and do i need to wait for the meat to cool before i put into bags and knot it up? or knot it up and put on ice?

thanks

adriaticum
11-07-2016, 05:21 PM
garbage bags are good for garbage.
not for meat.
They are sprayed to prevent odor and you're rolling your meat in that stuff.
Yes you have to make sure the meat is completely cool before locking it in an air tight space.

Bring clean bed sheets if you don't have game bags

Always best to leave meat in contact with air until it cools.

If you are going back home immediately after the kill and have a pickup then just put it on a clean tarp it will cool.
Also avoid water as much as you can.

TheTwelve
11-07-2016, 05:25 PM
well im heading to pick up ammo today, so ill get bags while im there.. i just need to figure out where to take it to get processed in steaks and ground, etc.

thanks for all the help!

adriaticum
11-07-2016, 05:32 PM