PDA

View Full Version : Compound Bow for 10 Year Old??

Twig-Chaser
11-03-2016, 09:33 AM
My son has been asking almost every day for a new Bow for his upcoming 10th Birthday. He has a Canadian tire special re curve bow he wore out so has a little bit of experience.

I have zero knowledge of bows so hoping to get some advice.

He is a fairly strong average size very active out doors kid.

my questions are:

What is a draw weight that I should look for that he can draw and and a draw weight that will kill a deer when he is ready / able to.
It looks as thought there are adjustable draw lengths with some of the bows.. again what is a draw length that he can use for upcoming years and not have to purchase a larger one in a couple years (i know this depends on his size, but an average??)
Any recommendations for a decent starter bow?

Thank you

butcher
11-03-2016, 10:17 AM
I bought my kid the bear razer. Adjustable draw weight and length. Shoots pretty well with it.

tinhorse
11-03-2016, 10:18 AM
Both my kids have bows. I picked them up an atomic diamond, draw weight 6-29 lbs and draw length 12-24". My 7 year old daughter does very well with this one. Added a peep and got her a release. My 9 year old son has a Bear cruzer. It is an excellent bow. Weighs 3.6 lbs, draw weight from 5-70 lbs, draw length 12-30". It will last him as long as he likes. Shoots great and you can find them on sale often. comes as a package with whisker rest, and sites. Just bought a release and added a peep. This bow is great as they can grow with it and use it for hunting when they can pull the weights necessary.

BRvalley
11-03-2016, 10:32 AM