PDA

View Full Version : First Columbia Blacktail

Grasp
10-27-2016, 07:20 AM
After three years hunting in the lower mainland I finally got my first columbia blacktail. I have a half a dozen Sitka's under my belt but no columbians. This was a backpack still hunt and I packed him about just over 5kms through the mountains. I was in the chilliwack valley. A lot of the stuff I read on this forum really helped out. Anyways thought you all might want to check it out and just wanted to say thanks to all the locals for the helpful posts. I am no expert by any means but I am more than happy to answer any questions people may have. (Other than where he was shot :razz: )

http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=6051&stc=1

http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=6052&stc=1

takla1
10-27-2016, 07:27 AM
congrates on the BT,generally they all have to be worked for,any details?was he with doe's ect
thx takla

BigfishCanada
10-27-2016, 07:32 AM
Wow, i bet that was hard work!!! Congrats, well deserved

Grasp
10-27-2016, 07:35 AM
congrates on the BT,generally they all have to be worked for,any details?was he with doe's ect
thx takla

Took this guy last week and you can see by his neck I don't think he was really rutting yet. No does with him that I could see. I had a can call and a set of rattling antlers. I was flipping the can or ratlling maybe every 5-10 mins. It felt like he was headed right to me when I saw him. He was uphill and heading sidehill towards me. My gut says he heard the can but I can't say for sure.

markathome
10-27-2016, 07:38 AM
Nice Buck - how heavy was that pack? Man it can be a load of work hauling one of those guys off the mountain slipping and sliding your way to the truck. Congratulations!

.264winmag
10-27-2016, 07:39 AM
Nice tall timber buck, congrats!

BCBear
10-27-2016, 07:41 AM
nice head gear on that one, congratulations on a great bush deer

Grasp
10-27-2016, 07:46 AM