PDA

View Full Version : I feel like it's just me and the squirrels out there.

Jovesque
10-23-2016, 12:39 PM
Alright I've got some questions.

While this is my first year hunting Blacktails, I didn't have much time to pre scout and I'm getting discouraged, sore, and tired. I've spent just over 80hrs so far and have only seen one deer while on a hunting trip and a couple close encounters with bears in early season. I've got lots of patience from years of fishing, but sometimes I feel like it's just me and the squirrels out there. MU 2-6.

Could I be wasting my time in the two spots I've been going to? One is at 1200m and the other at 1000M. Both have some deer sign; it's not a lot, but's the most I've come across. Both spots are a good 2-3hr hike from my car. Typically I drive 1.5hrs, hike 2-3hrs, then scrub down and change into my hunting clothes and quietly move into position. After about a two hour sit I slowly inch my way deeper into the timber for a still hunt. Honestly I get hung up on squirrels a lot. I hear a thump, thump, thump and move in closer, thermals/wind in my face only to find another squirrel picking pinecones off a fir tree; I swear I'm starting to get desensitized by them. Usually they don't even know I'm there, but occasionally one will squawk at me, especially if I tip a bleat can. That being said I get a little excited when I hear one squawking on the other side of a knoll, thinking this could be another passer by. It's super fun overall and totally exhausting.