PDA

View Full Version : Elk hunting on the Tuchodi River

wapiti
06-28-2007, 11:07 PM
Hi all!!

Great site here...a great resource of knowledge! My wife and I will be going elk hunting in mid August on the Tuchodi River with Riverjet Adventures. We put in for a grizzly tag also, but we'll see how the LEH goes on that...would greatly appreciate any info you could give me on the hunting there at that time of the year. Is it fairly open country? I am new to elk hunting (have chased red deer in New Zealand but never elk)...should we expect the critters to be up high at that time of the year?

hunter1947
06-29-2007, 04:26 AM
I have never hunted up in that area ,but i can tell you something about elk ,they need lots of water and food ,they can be found almost anywere. Look for tracks ,rubs and wollows ,if you find this sign ,then they are there. Lern how to bugle and cow call ,this will give you an advantage big time. Do lots of set ups for calling elk. Good luck on your trip http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/images/icons/icon14.gif.

thatskindafunny
06-29-2007, 06:05 AM
Good luck on your elk. Be nice if you could post some pic's of those New Zealand Red Deer. Have only seen 1 pic and it was huge.

StoneChaser
06-29-2007, 06:05 AM
There are so many elk up there that they can be found at all elevations. I saw elk up high in the rocks with the sheep, mid elevation in the hanging valleys, down on the main Tuchodi, and everywhere in between.

The country is mixed bag, as there are certainly some good open slopes, and some excellent open grassy aspen stands.

That being said, it also has its share of jungle (where I always manage to meet the Grizz).

I'd start low along the river (why pack one for miles if you don't have to) and work up in elevation from there. If it's super warm out, or super buggy then go high and basically hunt'em like you're looking for sheep on the breezy slopes.

You'll have no probem finding an elk...grizz are very plentiful too!