PDA

View Full Version : feels awesome!

DeepJeep
10-17-2016, 11:22 AM
Well, I finally did it. I shot my first grouse. Actually first anything. I know it's not much and people have harvested grizzlies and wolves but it felt amazing. I cleaned her at the spot by stepping on the wings and pulling at the legs. Got kind of weird to touch a dead bird but quickly got over it. Cleaned out the breast and legs. Now I know why people don't take legs. Before leaving for my hunt I grabbed a cooler and threw some ice in it. I have never done that before. Don't know why I did it yesterday but it was put to use :)

I was actually out deer hunting but I couldn't pass on this grouse. Went back to deer hunting but was distracted due to my excitement. Just wanted to go home and cook it. Anyways, after putting in my time at my spot I went home and cooked it for dinner.

Feels good.

some pics and a video :

View My Video (http://tinypic.com/r/2v0kisp/9)

http://i63.tinypic.com/4ieasp.jpg
http://i64.tinypic.com/2hmdeg6.jpg
http://i68.tinypic.com/ve2l2b.jpg
http://i66.tinypic.com/mh9isk.jpg

wideopenthrottle
10-17-2016, 11:26 AM
yum yum...looks awesome....nice to get a meal out of the trip at least

albravo2
10-17-2016, 11:32 AM
Awesome! Good for you.

You have now connected the dots all the way from planning a hunt to eating a dinner from your hard work.

It is both humbling and exhilarating, right?

Bugle M In
10-17-2016, 11:39 AM
There ya go....good job.
Was it tough eating?
I was told to only shoot Males, especially when it come to Ruffed/Franklins.
Anyways, congrats, looks like you did a good job preparing it.

DeepJeep
10-17-2016, 11:43 AM
Thanks guys..
it was chewy. A co worker told me to boil it first. I like that idea and will try it next time. It still wasnt bad by any means. Breast was tender but legs were tough muscle fibers. And the leg bones are really brittle.