PDA

View Full Version : blacktails live and learn

scotty30-06
10-08-2016, 03:48 AM
Hey guys I know myself as a self taught hunter chasing blacktails is tough...and I know there is more then a few guys that would love tips and tactics (not honey holes!!!)...on these tough de to hunt.....i have read pg66 black tails threads an what I'm wondering is if any new tricks ha been learned since 2010?....(at very worst get a fresh BT thread going ;p

Ferenc
10-08-2016, 04:04 AM
Finding the perennial rub areas has worked for me..... Once you find one you will know : )

ruger#1
10-08-2016, 04:09 AM
I have been hunting them since I was 17. You never stop learning.

takla1
10-08-2016, 06:51 AM
Ive found a few good spots that ive been hitting.They are a climb tho and that's the secrete ,get off the beaten path,find sign .The bucks start to get stupid{rut} the first week of nov..prime time to spend as much time as possible in their haunts to get the opportunity for a shot.

takla

.264winmag
10-08-2016, 07:35 AM
Been 5 years since I chased grey ghosts' on the island. Shot quite a few but not very many good ones. An old mature bt is as challenging as they come. The few I'm proud of came while hunting the ugliest weather the coast can throw at you, or the calm just before/after. Also blew it on the biggest I ever seen during a monsoon at first light, still haunts me.
And as said, find good rubs in november and he'll be close...

Good luck and enjoy the chase!

Jovesque
10-08-2016, 08:33 PM
I'm basically brand new to Blacktails and really keen to learn more too. I use to hunt in Quebec which is a different experience altogether(whitetails and tamer landscape).