PDA

View Full Version : Moose and elk info in 7-33

RayHill
10-07-2016, 01:38 PM
Hey guys

im new to moose and elk hunting reading the rags looks a little bit confusing and just needing a little guidance on legal tine and compulsory inspection requirements for this area

In the rags it does not say that compulsory inspection is required in this area for moose or elk so I'm guessing that that is what it is and I will not need to go for this if I bag one of these
species

also for the elk I'm wanting to go from now till October 31 and it shows that three-point bulls are open just wondering if there's a high ratio of these bulls in that area

For the moose it shows that

a) bulls are open and the configurations are having no more than two points on one antler b) having antlers with at least three points on one bro home or c) having at least one antler with a minimum of 10 points including the brow palm

is there any other tine configurations for a moose? If so it makes it confusing if they write it out like this. they should just write out moose bulls are open except for this type of configuration and then you know what to not shoot

thanks for your help

Ray

Mikey Rafiki
10-07-2016, 02:03 PM
The 3 points for elk is a minimum, so yes I would suggest the ratio of 3 points and bigger elk among the bulls would be decent.

Regarding the moose, there are a ton of other configurations that would not be legal. Anything with less than 10 points on each antler including less than 3 points on each brow would not be legal, with the exception of bulls no more than 2 points on one antler.

So:

9 points on each antler including 2 points on each brow would not be legal.
8 points on each antler including 2 points on each brow would not be legal.
9 points on each antler including 1 point on each brow would not be legal.
8 points on each antler including 1 point on each brow would not be legal.
4 points on each antler including 0 points on each brow would not be legal.