PDA

View Full Version : Moose 5-02d

Mr. Blasty
09-28-2016, 02:48 PM
Hey everybody, im new to HBC and first time posting but thousands of times reading.

Im on day 5 of my 7 day moose hunt. I finally managed to get a draw after 5 years. I scouted pretty much all of nyland laked, maud lake and as far down the road as i could get. Fthe first 2 days i hunted overlooking a meadow with tons of fresh deer and moose tracks and saw nothing. The last 3 days i hunted a swampy area with tons of fresh moose tracks from before sun up to about 10 am and saw nothing. I was calling for moose all 5 days and never got a reply. I have driven probably 300 kms and walked 50 and have only seen grouse and white tails.

Is anybody else running into this problem in this area. Im from vancouver island and dont usually go this long in the woods without seeing something

Anybody got an pointers, btw i have never hunted moose before.

mikek blacktail
09-28-2016, 10:06 PM
Wish I could help you out we have the Sam draw and will be there in the same areas on the first.

BigSkogButt
09-28-2016, 11:19 PM
Perservance is all I can say. I've shot moose on the first day and then not seen any more till last light of the last day. And then I've been on trips where I don't see a moose till the last day. Not very helpful but stick with the sign and don't give up. It can turn around in the blink of an eye.

ElliotMoose
09-29-2016, 06:14 AM
They should be talking big time by now.. I would say hunt that meadow where you saw all the moose sign. Get in well before first light, start with a couple soft cow calls before sun up. Remember not to over call - it's easy to get carried away and this is one mistake that is made commonly. Spraying yourself down with some moose scent before you head in never hurts either. Good luck and go spank a big one!

markathome
09-29-2016, 07:51 AM