PDA

View Full Version : What are the best gun cleaning practices?

nolimits
09-24-2016, 06:22 PM
I have a question to all those experienced and well trained/researched pros out there, what are the best ways to keep your guns clean, well performing, without risking any damages. The advice I received when I started out resulted recently in discovery of copper build up in the bore and serious crown damage. Suggestions for proper cleaning equipment and supplies and cleaning frequency is also appreciated.

ryanonthevedder
09-24-2016, 06:41 PM
Hoppes oil, soft brush, and finish with cotton patches? I clean as often as I care to and after shooting or a trip. Doesnt take more than a few minutes each time... but I am no expert.

How did you damage your crown while cleaning?

Ferenc
09-24-2016, 07:16 PM
For the cleaning rod J.Dewey Mfg Co Inc good quality brand.... Sweets 7.62... And for the pack a Bore snake along with the Otis cleaning pak... Each to their own.. It's what I use... Keep the end of the barrel taped when out in the field.

RiverOtter
09-24-2016, 07:27 PM
One piece teflon coated rod and quality bore guide; Tipton, Dewey etc., and only clean when accuracy drops off. Anymore, I just use Wipe Out and let it do 90% of the work. If you have excess copper fouling, CR-10 or Sweet's is the ticket, but don't mix them with other solvents. Rubbing alcohol between stages is good for removing residual, but always finish off with a light coat of bore oil; Butches gun oil is a good one.

Keep your muzzle taped with electrical tape and keep a few wraps on the barrel for replacement. If you have moisture concerns on an extended hunt, a bullet down the bore does wonders, then reseal with electrical tape.

Swissrallyman
09-24-2016, 08:43 PM