PDA

View Full Version : Cache Creek Mulie Hunt

BigSmoke
09-04-2016, 12:37 AM
Trying to plan a Mulie hunt this fall with a buddy of mine near cache creek. Neither of us has hunted this area before, so I'm hoping some of you wouldn't mind sharing a few words of wisdom or personal experiences with a couple green horns.

RayHill
09-04-2016, 06:09 AM
Try Savona

plumberjustin
09-04-2016, 09:22 AM
I've been hunting cache creek for a few years now, and each season we come home with deer. Like anywhere, there are pockets and corridors where the deer are typically found. There's also a pretty descent bounty of hares and grouse in the area. The logging activity is getting crazy up there, so it's definitely getting tougher to find the big guys, but they're there. Be prepared for some longer shots, as the areas around loon lake and south are quite open. Just get out there, plunge into the thick and explore. Good luck.

BigSmoke
09-04-2016, 09:31 AM
Thanks guys! Really appreciate the advise. We're planning on parking the truck and just hoofing it for a few days. Pretty much the same way we hunt them in other areas. This sound like a decent idea? Is it mostly private land around there?

russm
09-04-2016, 09:35 AM
Theres quite a bit of private/ranch land in the area, the deer seem to wise up and find it pretty quickly too, I'll be up that direction next week.

takla1
09-04-2016, 09:44 AM
Anything fenced along the hyway corridor will be private land...theres some good parking just off the hyway with crown land behind ,get away from the roads and look for a saddle between the mnts and get back in there 1-2 mnts back,thats where the game aren't being pushed ,make sure your prepped for a few days at least
its works...some of those areas before C C had a burn go thru a few yrs back and will be good
good luck
takla

ruger#1
09-04-2016, 12:35 PM