PDA

View Full Version : Backpack hunters-how far are you walking in?

Squamch
08-08-2016, 10:58 AM
Question for the guys who are doing backpack hunts, what's a "long" hike in? The spot I have in mind is about 6.5km of STEEP overgrown road to get to, with a 10km nice flat easy warm up walk before that. I've never done a backpack hunt before, I've been hiking with my pack all summer, but don't want to discover that I'm over-committed on the way in.

smallfry14
08-08-2016, 11:01 AM
You're huntin harder than me!! The mulie spots I have picked out are only 2-5km. What are you hunting?

monasheemountainman
08-08-2016, 11:02 AM
If you're walking on an old road should be easy other than the steep part. how long you going for? Multiple days I would assume

ryanb
08-08-2016, 11:04 AM
It's doable. How miserable it is will depend on how overgrown the road is. You might find it easier to get off the road into the timber for the hike up if the road is badly overgrown.

Ron.C
08-08-2016, 11:19 AM
For my solo mtn goat\ mule deer trip this fall

Spot 1 - have one spot that I am planning on riding a bike for 15km(VCA), then hike up the 5 km to where I will be hunting.

Spot 2- hiking about 9 km on trail that can be tough depending on blowdowns. But there is a parks cabin at the end of this hike so I can lighten up my gear.

Spot 3 - 6km hike up a river valley, then up another 3.5 to hunting area. No trails on this one and never done it yet unlike the other two spots .
But I think this one will be a tough pack out with an animal.

Point I'm trying to make is on a backpack hunt, the longest may not be the hardest.
Everyone has different limitations,fitness levels, and what I think is the most important thing ,determination.

If you are sure you can pack an animal out, then give er!!!! Just be brutally honest with yourself along the way and if you think you've at risk of over extending yourself, stop.

Lastcar
08-08-2016, 11:21 AM