PDA

View Full Version : Mule Deer Bucks on Trail Cams

Jager007
08-04-2016, 08:45 PM
New member on here, been reading lots of great treads and figured it was time to post my own. I have been hunting the Okanagan for 5+ years and always looking for more hunting tips and advice from experienced guys/gals.

I've been enjoying using trail cams to see what game is in an area and never seem to catch mule deer bucks of any size on the cams. I get hundreds if not thousands of mule does and fawns but very rarely any bucks. No matter the season, the elevation or the type of terrain, it doesn't seem to make a difference.

Any guys having any luck catching a glimpse of mature mule deer bucks on trail cams? Any trick to it?

Thanks

Husky7mm
08-04-2016, 10:01 PM
That can be tough. Mature mule deer are nomads. They can really wander. Its tough to start this time of year and hope to get good bucks. I like high elevation cut blocks. They move to them from big timber above or up to them from roadless ravines below. I like remote blocks put in far away from all the rest of them. I like slide chutes but they need to face north or west this time of year as the veg is slow to develop there due to the aspect.
Its good to use an attractant rather than just hope they walk down a trail but like I said earlier, its a little late this year for good results on bucks. Do you know any spots that have lots of early season rubs? They will be there now, just like they are in sept. All else fails come late october hit the heavy doe areas again and again and again from a good glassing point. Make a plan from there.

rides bike to work
08-04-2016, 10:24 PM
I typically get bucks on the camera in May and nov 10 . If you pic one mountain and place cams in strategic locations ei funnels benches edge of alpine you will get to know the herd pretty good. Takes time but lots of fun hunt all year round. Winter is hard on the cams though

hunter1947
08-05-2016, 04:45 AM