PDA

View Full Version : Advice on 7-33 elk

tacoma06
08-04-2016, 07:26 AM
I've been lucky enough to receive some farm land permission in Dawson creek for an elk hunt. I'm planning on heading up for sept 1 and staying for 7-10 days. I'm wondering if I should be focusing all my attention on the fields or if I should be heading into the bush. This is my first elk hunt and my first time staying in Dawson creek any longer than grabbing a coffee and gas. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks all!

barry1974w
08-04-2016, 08:22 AM
I'm far from an expert, but I'd say you may want to concentrate on the field edges at first and last light, you may not want to go crashing around in the bush except as a last resort. Take a range finder if you've got on available cause animals out in the open can be very deceiving. And practice your shooting to figure out your maximum range when shooting at game( I had a draw last winter, the elk embarrassed me for several days).

Have fun

buckdynasty
08-04-2016, 08:39 AM
The first thing I would do is look for sign. Look for game trails leading to the fields. I've found elk to be fairly consistent with bedding and feeding areas and places in between, and as long as they aren't chased around too much.

If there's an oat crop in your area pay special attention to those areas.

Pay attention to the wind. If an elk smells you, game over.

I've hunted elk in the North Peace and it can be tricky bugling the herd bull away from his cows. Often I've found cow calling much more effective in trying to get the biggest bull to come in. Try the hoochie mama.

I would be focusing on the fields right at first and last light. If the rut is in full swing then hunting in the timber can be effective, but still pretty tricky.

Most of all just have fun. You'll make mistakes but at the same time learn as you go. Its tough to beat elk hunting in September!

tacoma06
08-04-2016, 09:32 AM