PDA

View Full Version : Green elk hunter

MichelD
07-10-2016, 02:26 PM
Even though I've been hunting since 1968 and have been on three Roosevelt elk hunts, I don't know anything about Rocky Mountain elk.

With no LEH this year I'm tempted to try a region 7 elk hunt.

Do you veteran elk hunters find bull bugling or cow calling is more effective?

I've been deer hunting in the Princeton area and heard elk bugles all over the place but I think that was other hunters.

Ferenc
07-10-2016, 02:36 PM
No veteran .... But a bugle can bring them in like a frieght train ... Let them sound off for their location ... Then make your plan and get in close.. Straight in if the wind is in your favour with a cow call... Lots = lost cow : )

todbartell
07-10-2016, 03:34 PM
Use a location bugle to try and get a bull to sound off to give away his location, then work in silently to that general area with the wind in your favor. Once there I would suggest a few cow calls and hold tight. If he's still close by he can come right in, either silent or vocally.

MichelD
07-10-2016, 03:36 PM
Use a location bugle to try and get a bull to sound off to give away his location, then work in silently to that general area with the wind in your favor. Once there I would suggest a few cow calls and hold tight. If he's still close by he can come right in, either silent or vocally.

Thanks Tod.

goatdancer
07-10-2016, 05:30 PM
And here I thought we had another variety of elk in BC...............

Ourea
07-10-2016, 05:46 PM
Areas that r easy access, get a lot of vehicle and boot traffic, can be the worst areas to rely on "calling" for elk.

Personal experience......the less pressure an area gets the more the odds go up in using calling to pull in an aggressive elk and kill him.
I feel that most elk hunters are call crazy.

If elk are around and not pressured they will be doing their thing and vocalizing without a hunter calling to them.