PDA

View Full Version : New to hunting and did first scouting....tell ya what I found

mrtires24
05-22-2016, 05:53 PM
I am new to Hunting. ( still haven't done it) just got my Core and Pal winter 2016.

I went out scouting with the family today. Never done it before, and I know its not really a good time of year to do it because they should move around by the time hunting season comes ( deer )

went up chihalis service road and found a clearing. Found deer tracks, droppings, scratch marks and might have found two beds. Also found old and VERY FREASH bear crap.

Another thing we found was a couple piles of white fur in different locations. I am new to this, but I think it might be deer fur?

we also came across white thread ( easily breakable) that was strung through the bush at knee-chest hight. The fist time we found it, it was around my ankle. I didn't think too much about it and just untangled myself.

The second time I found it, I saw it close to where I think the beds and a srape were and it was strung at knee to chest hight. We didn't disturb it. Is this probably someone trying to see if there is activity? It was thin thread and very easily breakable. ( I tested the stuff I found around my ankle)

we didn't find any sheds, but I guess it isn't that time of season.

I am excited about what we found and documented the area so I can go back. Because this is my first scouting time out, I have nothing to compare this to. Was this decent info we found for a 1 hour hike???

Thanks

caddisguy
05-22-2016, 06:02 PM
Sounds like time well spent! In my experience, sheds are hard to come by in the Fraser Valley. It is thick and the terrain is not very favorable. I have yet to go out with the sole intent of shed hunting, but I spent a lot of time hiking around scouting, hunting, checking trailcams, etc and I have never found a shed.