PDA

View Full Version : 12.5" shotgun barrel legal for " hunting "

RiverRunner
05-05-2016, 09:34 PM
First off... I have no intention of hunting with my 12.5" 12g.

but.... I'm a resident hunter with a bear tag who is accompanying another resident hunter with a tag who intends to harvest a black bear with his 308 bolt action.

I'm just there for the trip, to help, drive... And support.

I don't really feal like carrying my 270 wsm bolt...

I'd rather carry my 12.5" barreled 12g with slugs in case any close in issues arise.

Soooo..... I'm good to go in the eyes of the law if checked? If interpreted that I'm technically hunting ... I've got the right papers and tag... But the gun? All I can find is no handguns and a handgun isanything under 12" according to the regs...

Thanks.

caddisguy
05-05-2016, 09:36 PM
First off... I have no intention of hunting with my 12.5" 12g.

but.... I'm a resident hunter with a bear tag who is accompanying another resident hunter with a tag who intends to harvest a black bear with his 308 bolt action.

I'm just there for the trip, to help, drive... And support.

I don't really feal like carrying my 270 wsm bolt...

I'd rather carry my 12.5" barreled 12g with slugs in case any close in issues arise.

Soooo..... I'm good to go in the eyes of the law if checked? If interpreted that I'm technically hunting ... I've got the right papers and tag... But the gun? All I can find is no handguns and a handgun is anything under 12" according to the regs...

Thanks.

No problem if it is a non-restricted firearm and the length has not been modified as to make it a prohib. As long as you aren't hunting with it and it's for defense you're good to go.

I often carry a Dominion Grizzly compact (8.5 inch barrel and small retractable stock) when I'm checking trailcams in the spring. Carrying a rifle for no reason or shooting a bear 5-10km in the bush is not my cup of tea. Have a good trip and good luck to your partner getting a bear!

nedarb2