PDA

View Full Version : West Kootenays Elk Hunt

lank1234
03-30-2016, 06:41 PM
Hey all,

After reading through many great discussions on this website I decided to make my first post to this forum. I live in the Okanagan but would like to head east for an elk hunt this season. I understand there are some elk (rare but still some) around my neck of the woods (princeton, little white, connector etc.), but Id love to get away for a few days and get into an area that has a higher elk density. Im also expecting to be joined by the many other hunters heading east once the season rolls around. Let me start off by saying i'm not looking for GPS coordinates to a nice bull. I am more curious about how far west are elk found in any decent numbers and would you guys recommend trying closer to the border or heading a bit north? I am a young guy and im not afraid of a hike and backpack hunt if it means i can be away from the crowds. Any areas you may recommend? Im also relatively new to hunting elk so any tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Edit: I understand this is a cliche first post and im not looking to piss anyone off, just trying to gain some knowledge and this seemed like a great place

OutWest
03-30-2016, 07:11 PM
Good call on heading to R4. It is a tough go for elk locally - lots of hunters, not a pile of elk. It only gets better the further east you go from Christina Lake.

goinghunting
03-30-2016, 08:24 PM
Theres elk in region 4, the farther east you go the better the numbers. You want real elk numbers go north young man!

HarryToolips
03-30-2016, 09:19 PM
Since when is/was there elk up the Connector???....Going hunting has it right, more elk the further east you go...

lank1234
03-31-2016, 09:28 AM
Theres elk in region 4, the farther east you go the better the numbers. You want real elk numbers go north young man!

When you say go north what exactly are you meaning? Like jasper area?

Brez
03-31-2016, 09:31 AM