PDA

View Full Version : Shopping in the US?

AgSilver
03-19-2016, 12:50 AM
Noob here. Heading down to the US this weekend and figuring on a stop at Cabelas (ordered a six piece fly rod that'll be great for the backpack). Thinking of what else I may need that may still have better pricing down there, even with the shitty exchange.

I was thinking of looking at boots as I really only have light hikers at the moment. Anticipate doing some (not too extensive and relatively early season) backpack hunting as well as some ATV cruising with my pops. Also going to look at binos (was looking at the Bushnell Fusion 1 Mile ARC rangefinder as they have pretty good reviews, but apparently you're a ****ing idiot if you don't spend the cash on Swaros or Leica or Zeiss, if my reading on this site is correct...?)

Will just generally browse to see what's on special as well. Have got enough Camo and have a pretty decent daypack (don't have much of a pack for a couple of nights out there, though).

This hobby is a crazy one to start...especially for a self-professed gear junkie.

Any "off the cuff" ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance, gents!

AgSilver
03-19-2016, 12:58 AM
And sorry, I don't know this forum well enough yet - probably should have posted this in the Gear section. My bad.

Wentrot
03-19-2016, 05:33 AM
There are lots of good bino options, don't buy in to the idea that you NEED to get Swaros, Leica or Zeiss. Although I would suggest you don't go cheap otherwise you will just end up upgrading soon after.

Iv got no idea about the binos you are looking at but just do your research and if people say they are good take a look thru em at the store and go from there.

RiverRunner
03-19-2016, 08:00 AM
Concentrate on the basics….. your feet are what get you around.

Agent Orange
03-19-2016, 08:39 AM