PDA

View Full Version : real world arrow differences

pin_head
02-28-2016, 01:15 PM
'Afternoon Archers,

I'm looking to hear opinions an real world experience with different arrows.

I've generally used Gold tip hunter expedition and xt, mainly based on price and reputation. I've got some carbon express maxima hunters as well and they are near double the price.

I'm curious about some of the Easton offerings but they too are pricy compared to the gold tips.

Keep in mind I am still fairly new to archery and haven't actually shot anything with the bow yet. I'll be trying for a spring bear again. Hunting/3D is my main interest.

Cheers,
Brad

RoscoeP
02-28-2016, 02:10 PM
Are you shooting a compound or traditional bow? The Radial X-weaves are a very good arrow at a pretty good price, just be aware that the numbers on the arrows are "series" and not the spine which confuses people even the ones selling them. A 200 series is just over 400 spine and the 300 series is around 340 spine. The 100 series are very weak spine 500 or more. The GT's you shoot are also good arrows, I am shooting them now out of my Trad bows.

Ambush
02-28-2016, 02:10 PM
I've been through a lot of arrows in my archery career. The last few seasons its been Easton Axis with great results and only one negative. Easton FMJ's for one season before that and done with those.
Nothing wrong with your present arrows and they have a solid reputation, unless something has changed with quality recently. Maybe your best bang-for-buck.
Most of us don't shoot well enough to notice the difference between premium arrows and just good arrows. And likely 95% of the bows being shot are not tuned well enough to take advantage of the "best" arrows.

Although I think everybody should use all the same gear as me, just to validate my choices, it's not necessary at all for functionality.