PDA

View Full Version : Sat phones, Inreach or spot Pros and cons

Hunt247
02-28-2016, 09:34 AM
Just wondering what others experiences with these units are. I personally used a spot while on a sheep hunt and it seemed to work good other then you don't really know if the person on the other end is getting the Were Ok message. I have never had to use it to call for help.

A friend of mine has a In reach and he used it last fall to send me messages it seemed to work really well but communicating by text can be confusing sometimes and if the last message someone sent before the power in the unit died it might not be s good thing.

In my buddies situation his wife was a having a panic attack because she didn't hear from him in a day and a half. This was probably more her problem then than the units fault.

Sat phones seem to be the ultimate way to go but obviously the most expensive way to go. I have little experience with them but would like to hear others thoughts.

Bear Chaser
02-28-2016, 09:41 AM
Spots been flawless for me in the areas we have travelled. I am considering an InReach. I would really prefer if they came with replaceable AA batteries like the Spots.

604ksmith
02-28-2016, 09:53 AM
I had a Spot for 2 years and was satisfied with the service, however I know it failed to send messages. Maybe 5-10% of the time, which doesn't sound like a lot, but I primarily hunt alone and my family live far away and worriers.

In the last year I've now switched to an InReach Explorer and think it is quite superior. Not only have I had 100% success with my messages so far (I'm sure it will fail eventually, but at least I'll know), but getting return messages offer peace of mind that outweigh the higher cost of the unit. Beyond messages, the InReach is really useful as a GPS (primary or backup GPS) and when paired with your smartphone (iPhone 6 for me) the maps look great and are much easier to use than my Garmin's of past.