PDA

View Full Version : The Elusive Black Bear

merritthunter
05-25-2007, 02:17 PM
I have been hunting the merritt area for about six years. I have gone out and scouted Iron Mountain, Hamilton Hill, Aberdeen area, Promitory. I have only seen maybe 2 or 3 piles of bear scoot, both about 3 days old. Ive been told that there are more bears in merritt then there are dogs. Has any else who is hunting black bear seen any bears? I have done alot of day hunts and some early evening hunts, but I dont see to many in the area. It just may be that I am not Lucky or has all the logging in the area push the bear out even further? I hear Logan Lake has some nice big Boars. Any suggestions for other areas to hunt? I am just not seeing enough bear sign in the forementioned areas.

Steeleco
05-25-2007, 02:50 PM
Just west of Merritt is Jack Swartz road. The rest is up to you!!

gary mok
05-25-2007, 03:30 PM
I went to Merritt last year but didn't see any bears sight neither then I changed the place to Boston bar and saw 2 bears there but no luck to get it.

steveo32
05-25-2007, 04:37 PM
Try out towards pike mountian i have seen the same boar 4 days in a row 2 weeks ago, just not big enough for me or try spius down the spences bridge hwy always has decent bears. as for logan lake try towards the mine look for tonnes of sign and you will find the holes

steve

Kirby
05-25-2007, 06:03 PM
Like steve said check out Spius, I was down there a couple of years ago on a fire, I think the average count was 15-18 a day.

Kirby

pupper
05-25-2007, 06:12 PM
no there are no black bears in merrit. or deer.

best to hunt in the lower mainland since everyone from there hunts in merrit.

merritthunter
05-25-2007, 08:39 PM
Thanks for the input. I spent all day scouting Iron moutain which looked like PRIME bear territory, but no sign. I think the bears in Merritt must be very constipated!

Marc
05-25-2007, 10:59 PM