PDA

View Full Version : 9 bears, 1 grizz

youngfellla
05-19-2007, 10:45 AM
Went for a cruise last night to try and find a decent blackie. The bears were out in full force. After seeing some 5-5 1/2 footers and passing up some 6' bears, I finally spotted a big blackie that I figured would go in the high 6' mark. He was up high in some nice grassy slopes feeding. I decided to put a stalk in him.

After about an hour and a half of picking my way up the slopes I got into a good spot about 90 yards from the bear in good shooting position. I studied him for a good 10 minutes to decide if I should take him. Just as I decided to hammer him, I was just sliding a shell into the chamber on my 416 Rigby, the bear looks up into the poplar trees on top of the ridge, turns, and goes into a dead run down the hill and out of sight.

I caught some movement out of the corner of my eye, and here comes a grizzly walking down out of the trees about 250 yards from me. I estimated him at 7 1/2', and he was a beautiful silvertip. He must have had somewhere to be, cause he never stopped, just kept trucking down the hill. I never had the time to get my camera out of my pack, and I didn't want him to see the movement. He continued on down through the thick brush and I spotted him crossing the road right beside my truck.8)

All in all a pretty good night, lots of action, no bears down, but having a grizz walk in that close was worth it. I was wishing I had a grizz tag for the area!

Fisher-Dude
05-19-2007, 11:51 AM
Experiences like that are why we go out there. Thanks for sharing!

mark
05-19-2007, 07:20 PM