PDA

View Full Version : How to know crown land / legal land to hunt?

Lugg
01-08-2016, 08:46 PM
All,

I've been learning all I can about hunting for the last 6 months or so and have learned a great deal. Many thanks to everyone here for a lot of that information.

One thing I am very stumped about and am finding more and more frustrating is knowing what land is legal to hunt on and what is not.

What I do know is private land is not legal to hunt without permission. Crown land is legal to hunt on. There are other types of land as well, provincial parks (no hunting), Indian Reservations (Not sure the rules but I will assume with no hunting without permission), and others. But to keep things simple I want to find legal crown land to hunt and I just don't know how to tell if what I'm looking at is crown land, private land without signage or gates, etc.

I have tried using iMapBC and the front counter discovery tool. I can pick out some places to stay away from with these tools such as reservations. Very good chance I am not using these programs to their full potential!

Does anyone have some tips on figuring these things out?

Help would be very much appreciated!

Fred1
01-08-2016, 08:56 PM
A real good place to ask is your nearest Timber company! Ie TOLKO, Canfor etc. and even any small forest consultants - They will have all that stuff on their maps. If you get the right guy he may print you what you need. The Ministry of Forests may help too. One thing I have learned here in the Okanagan, if it has grass on it, bank on it being private land.

Sofa King
01-08-2016, 08:57 PM
All,

I've been learning all I can about hunting for the last 6 months or so and have learned a great deal. Many thanks to everyone here for a lot of that information.

One thing I am very stumped about and am finding more and more frustrating is knowing what land is legal to hunt on and what is not.