PDA

View Full Version : Securing your trail cams

Harvest the Land
12-19-2015, 11:30 AM
I'm new to the trail cam seen and can't tell you how excited I am to start using them!

How much effort do you guys put in securing your trail cams? I just got a pretty decent deal on Ebay for 3 Moultrie A5's and I decided to also purchase the security boxes for them as well. So I'm wondering if I should also buy a few cable locks for them as well or is that overkill?

One of the spots I'll be setting them up in is a nice bedding area way far off the road and a good 2km hike in, and I've never seen anyone that far in, so I'm not too concerned of something jacking a trail cam from me in that area (but you never know right?). However, another spot I'd like to set one up is right on top of a watering hole in the middle of a ravine that's pretty close to a relatively active logging road, but its not the easiest spot to hike into.

Do you also think its a good idea to set the trail cams up above eye level and angle them down so they're not in plain sight of passers by? Since I'll be keeping them inside the security boxes would you guys also lock em down with cable locks to be extra safe or is that overkill?

Thanks for in advance for your insight!

chris
12-19-2015, 11:54 AM
I welded up some lock boxes for all of mine. I screw them to trees and wrap a big chain. I have yet to have one go missing but it doesn't matter how good your locks are. If someone wants it they will just cut the tree down and take it. I set them up at about 4 ft off the ground pointing a way from the sun. I have yet to see anybody on my cams and they are all within a km or so from the road.

Rob Chipman
12-19-2015, 12:05 PM
I use python locks. I've seen guys on my cams, and they've seen the cams as well, but they've never damaged them. I've been lucky with bears - no damage from them.

Coachman
12-19-2015, 01:16 PM